Jul 18

Perkins retained as mayor

Re-elected Meander Valley Mayor Craig PerkinsTHE final count is in and the line-up for Meander Valley’s governance board for 2014-18 has been decided.

Incumbent Mayor Craig Perkins has retained his seat with the local government body and will preside over council meetings for a further term, with former councillor Michael Kelly to sit as deputy mayor.

Cr Perkins strolled home with a 73.80 per cent count and 5481 votes over Cr Andrew Connor’s 1946 votes and 26.20 per cent count, becoming one of the earliest elected mayors for Tasmania.

The elections appeared close cut for the deputy mayor chase as incumbent deputy mayor Deborah White contested her role against Cr Kelly and Cr Rodney Synfield.

Cr White looked in with a chance after a first preference count left her with 38.38 per cent of the vote against Cr Kelly’s 40.71 per cent, however the cut-up of Cr Synfield’s votes did not prove strong enough.

Cr Synfield’s 1561 votes were redistributed, pushing 10.78 per cent to Cr Kelly and 10.13 per cent to Cr White — leaving Cr Kelly as the new deputy mayor with 3777 votes to Cr White’s 3559.

A total of 7467 votes were counted for the deputy chase.

Newcomer candidates also fought for positions on the council, with Rodney Youd and Tanya King staking their claim to the board.

Candidates Tenielle McDermott, John Temple and Richie Fellows found themselves in the cut-up, leaving other fresh face Dawn Vallance with only 0.86 of a quota.

The new Meander Valley Council is: Mayor Cr Perkins, deputy mayor Cr Kelly, Cr Youd, Cr White, Cr Connor, Cr Ian Mackenzie, Cr Synfield, Cr Bob Richardson and Cr King.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.